A Recipe a Week: Week 5

Someday I will get off my soapbox about easy meals and meal planning and the wonders of meal prep. But today is not that day!!!

20170130_193249

While I wish I had a better picture, I was hungry and forgot until I was almost at the end of my bowl. Which says a lot about this meal. This week I kicked my challenge off early with the Roasted Gnocchi and Brussels Sprouts with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette from Eating Well Magazine‘s November/December 2016 issue.

A key aspect of meal planning is looking at what meals you’ll have lots of time to cook, what meals you’ll have a little bit of time to cook, and what meals you’ll have no time to cook. This one was in the middle, and the prep time was cut down tonight even more because I trimmed all those sprouts up while I waited for things to cook while doing my meal prep for the week yesterday. Meal prep to the rescue!!! I’m also a big advocate of sheet pan dinners because they’re simple. You just throw everything together, throw it on the pan and then throw it on a plate. This takes about 20 minutes to cook, which is about how long I have until I’m totally starving after the gym.

I’m not usually the biggest fan of Brussels sprouts, but the more I roast them, the more I like them. Boiled, still not so much. The sundried tomatoes and the acidity of the lemon really took away from the bitterness that I normally don’t like about the sprouts. The only thing I would change, is that when using normal lemons instead of Meyer lemons, the vinaigrette turns out a bit more sour. Next time I’ll probably skip adding the lemon juice towards the end and just let the lemons on the pan do their thing. But that’s a personal preference and using what’s available.

The vote in our little household is that this Meatless Monday-friendly dish will definitely be making a repeat performance. I have leftovers in the meal plan set for Wednesday night and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

