A Recipe A Week: Week 2

Saturday night is a weird time for me to be posting but I did just make my new recipe for the week, so I figured I should write while I’m thinking about it.

For those who missed the last post, I have set myself a challenge for the year. Each week I’m cooking up a new-to-me recipe in order to break myself out of my food rut. The goal is that by Sunday night each week I will have tried a new recipe and posted about it. Two down, only fifty to go!!!

This week I made Pesto Spaghetti Squash from Thug Kitchen 101. I added the original Thug Kitchen to my shelf two years ago when I was looking for vegan cookbooks, because beans and legumes are cheaper than meat, and I was looking for cheap ways to up my protein and iron intake. I ended up loving how they use different ingredients to create totally unique dishes that everyone will love, vegan or not. When I got Thug Kitchen 101 for Christmas this year, I was so excited to start cooking my way through it.

img_1099

Like kale salad, spaghetti squash is not really outside of my comfort zone. As I have proven in a handful of posts (with meat sauce, as a taco skillet, or in this first post that desperately needs new photos), spaghetti squash is a staple in my cooking and has been for a while. Usually I make it in the microwave because it tends to go a little bit faster. For this recipe, I cooked it in the oven and whipped up the pesto sauce while it was cooking. Pesto is a great way to use up those odds and ends of herbs that can end up hanging around the fridge after you only needed them for a garnish or a tiny amount in a recipe. Things like cilantro, parsley and basil are the obvious choices, but some thyme thrown in would be a nice surprise. Green onions could easily make themselves at home here too. Add your favourite nuts, some olive oil, garlic and lemon juice and you’re away to the races! Any strategy for keeping food from going to waste!

I topped my squash off with some leftover rotisserie chicken for some protein. I do realize that adding meat to a dish from a vegan book kind of defeats the purpose, but this is what was in the fridge and needed to be eaten up. I was super happy with how this recipe turned out and it has definitely been added to the make-again list!

Next week I’m tackling a red lentil soup. The plan is to make it on Monday night and portion it out so I have lunch for the rest of the week. I’m trying to get pack into the habit of meals planning and meal prepping so there is never a scramble to figure out what to take for lunch or what to make for dinner, so this recipe fits in perfectly. I’m also starting to get bored with my lunch salads and I want something warm when I come in from going for my walk at lunch, so this sounds like the perfect fit. Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

