Cilantro Pesto

Happy Tuesday friends! How’s everyone’s week going so far? So far I’ve had two great suppers this week, I killed it at the gym tonight, and there’s so much amazing produce coming out of the backyard garden.

Last night I made The Kitchn’s Garlicky Grilled Kale Salad, which is a very interesting take on kale salad. We served it up with some grilled pork for a simple summery meal. I think I’ll be grilling kale to use in my own Garlicky Kale Salad before the summer is out. If you have this salad in your usual meal rotation, try grilling the kale and let me know how it goes! There is also so much kale coming out of the garden right now that I don’t know what to do with it! As much as I’ve cooked and made salads out of it, there is such a thing as too much kale, so I’ve been freezing it. If you’re interested in this, stay tuned for a post telling you all about it!

And now for today’s recipe: cilantro pesto! As you’ve heard me say zillions of times, I hate wasting food. I never want to throw anything out if it could be used in any way, shape, or form. Composting my odds and ends helps this, since the compost will be used on the garden eventually, but even still, I try to use up all the scraps I can. Do you ever find that you buy a bunch of an herb only to use a couple tablespoons worth, and then the rest just turns to mush in the crisper drawer? Me too, every time. For this recipe, the cilantro can be a little bit wilted, but not gone bad yet. I served mine over some pasta and topped it with Parmesan cheese, but this would make a great marinade for chicken, could be used in sandwiches or garlic toast, or could be tossed with vegetables before roasting or grilling. It’s a versatile little sauce to make with your leftover cilantro and keep in the fridge for a couple days.

This recipe makes roughly 3/4 cup.

IMG_0978.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cilantro leaves and some stems
  • 2 large garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup water
  1. In a food processor or blender, combine all ingredients and blend until a paste forms.
  2. Add water slowly until desired consistency is reached.

 

6 thoughts on “Cilantro Pesto

Leave a Reply

