Whole 30: Day 16

As of today, I am more than halfway done my first Whole 30! I thought this would be a good time for an update on how things are going and what I’ve found out so far.

Whole30- Day 16

First things first, let’s talk about not eating sugar for more than 2 weeks. The first week was rough, especially the first few days. I mentioned this before, but I didn’t ever realize how much sugar I have in a day until I couldn’t have it. Two weeks ago, it was a struggle to not eat treats at work, or sweet recipes I was testing, or the ice cream my boyfriend has in the freezer. By this week though, it’s completely a non-issue. I don’t think about the box of Rice Krispie squares around the corner from my desk. I don’t look for something sweet after dinner (besides my ever-trusty cup of tea, which is beside me right now). This I feel like is a huge victory for me because I’m not just eating mindlessly, and my mood and energy levels are not completely reliant on sugar.

Speaking of my mood and energy levels, I wouldn’t say I’m in the “Tiger Blood” zone exactly (this is Whole 30 speak), but I do find I have more consistent energy throughout the day, and that I even have lots of energy puttering around the house or working on the blog or whatever after work and the gym. I also feel like I can focus on tasks at work more, and can focus on my workout when I’m at the gym, even when I’m sweaty and tired and want to just lie down on the ground.

A big goal for me around starting Whole 30 was improving my GI health and function. I will not go into details for you, because that’s gross, but I do feel better overall. I’ve also noticed that my clothes fit a little bit looser, but not hugely. I will never be a super skinny little person, but I feel like eating mindfully, and eating nutrient dense foods are definitely making a difference. I upped the amount I’ve been going to the gym not long before starting Whole 30, so any body composition changes over this period I know will be a combination of both factors.

IMG_0858

I am eating tooooonnnssss of veggies and fruit. Partly this is because we are hauling in lots of strawberries and kale from the garden every second night, which is amazing, but also this is because they’re the easiest thing for me to snack on, since crackers, cheese, and junk food are out of the question. I found that eating all raw vegetables was a little bit hard on my system, but I’ve found a happy balance between some raw veggies and some cooked that seems to be working.

I am meal planning every week. This meal plan isn’t totally set in stone, and doesn’t always pan out exactly, but eating is just so much easier when I don’t have to think about what I’m going to make. Except today where I forgot to defrost chicken for dinner until 7 pm, but I had emergency tuna salad ready to go in the fridge! I’ve also been making sure to prep my lunch while dinner is cooking the night before, so there’s never a frantic scramble to find foods I can eat.

On the other hand, being a normal social person is a little hard. I was at a strawberry fundraiser last weekend and everyone wanted to know why I wasn’t having any strawberry short cake! I just said I wasn’t hungry, instead of explaining to the entire population of Mitchell about Whole 30. At work, I have told everyone what I’m doing and why, so that I have the support to make good food choices.

So, to wrap up, I’m really happy with how this nutrition experiment is going and I’m excited to see what other changes happen in the next couple weeks! I’m starting to figure out how my re-introduction process is going to go, so stay tuned to hear about that!

Does my experience seem normal compared to anyone else who’s done this? Let me know in the comments or on facebook!

4 thoughts on “Whole 30: Day 16

  1. Evelyne CulturEatz says:

    First time visitor but nice to see this post half way through an amazing challenge. I am impressed, seems like a big sacrifice to me. Glad you are seeing some good result. Good luck for the second half.

    Like

Leave a Reply

