Spaghetti Squash and Meat Sauce

One of the easiest parts of doing Whole 30 while the weather is nice and warm is that I can BBQ some meat and grill some veggies to throw together a meal any night I want. But it’s nice to have some easy recipes to fall back on when I’m just not feeling that.

Enter spaghetti squash. Is it the same as eating spaghetti? No, obviously not. It’s squash. Is it it’s own fabulous thing that can be cooked and served in many different ways? Yes. Will a bucket of it fill me up without making me feel like a blimp about to explode? Yes. For this dish, I cooked my spaghetti squash and made an easy meat sauce on the stove from some canned crushed tomatoes and ground pork. While the sauce is simmering and the squash is in the microwave, there was even tons of time for me to finish throwing together my lunch for tomorrow.

Those of your not doing Whole 30 or some kind of paleo diet, you could smother this in a beautiful layer of Parmesan and it would be amazing. But I surprisingly didn’t miss the cheese too much, which is a huge win. Today is Day 11 of my Whole 30, and I feel pretty good. I’m finding I’m not tired and lethargic too much in the middle of the afternoon, and I have tons of energy at the gym. I also feel more focused on the tasks I’m doing (i.e. not getting distracted by every single little thing while writing a blog post).

This recipe makes 4-6 servings, depending on how big you are and whether you just came home from Crossfit.

IMG_0886

Ingredients:

  • 1 large spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 lb lean ground pork or beef
  • 1 can (798 mL) crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp prepared crushed garlic
  • 3 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red chili pepper (or to taste)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Place 1 half of the squash, cut-side down, in a small casserole dish. Add 1 inch of water. Microwave for 12 minutes, or until squash can be easily scraped out with a fork. Transfer squash strands to a bowl. Repeat with remaining squash half.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook until translucent. Add the pork (or beef) and cook until meat is no longer pink, 8-10 minutes.
  3. Add tomatoes, garlic, Italian seasoning, and chili powder. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer.
  4. Transfer squash to sauce and stir to mix thoroughly. Cook until heated through. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve.
5 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash and Meat Sauce

  1. sugarlovespices says:

    Hi Mairead
    Love spaghetti squash and yours looks so rich and robust in flavor with the addition of meat in the tomato sauce. We have done quite a few recipes with spaghetti squash and have enjoyed them immensely. Wonderful recipe and great write up.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Loreto.

    Like

  2. diversivore says:

    I love squash, but oddly enough I’ve only experimented with spaghetti squash once or twice. Adding meat to the sauce sounds like a great idea!

    Like

  3. leslie-anne says:

    I’m a pretty big fan of spaghetti squash – I like to undercook it just a tiny bit so it still has that ‘al dente’ feel – but you are 100% right, it is definitely not pasta and will never fool anyone into thinking it is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

