Spring Veggie Turkey Sandwich

Since I’m planning on taking on a Whole30 in a few weeks (see this post), I’m starting to wrap my head around what I can and can’t eat during that month. I’m planning to have a scroll through my previous posts and find recipes that fit so I have a starting point for planning some meals out well ahead of time. I think I’m going to be hard-pressed to find more than a few recipes, but I’m sure there’s lots I could make slight changes to so they’d be compliant. I’ll tag them as Whole30 so you can find them if you want them.

This recipe, however, is not Whole30 approved, mainly because it’s on a whole wheat english muffin (not that there’s anything wrong with whole wheat english muffins). An easy swap here would be to turn the sandwich into a lettuce wrap, or to toss all the ingredients on a bed of spring mix or spinach and top with a refreshing oil and vinegar dressing. I suspect deli turkey is not Whole30-compliant, but you could also swap it for a few slices of your own roasted turkey or chicken breast. See? Lots of options out there. I think I’ll be fine.

This recipe makes 1 serving. I packed it for lunch the night before and it was fine sitting in the fridge overnight and half of the next day.

IMG_0819.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat english muffin, cut in half
  • 1/4 avocado, peeled and pitted
  • 2 thin slices deli turkey
  • 5 thin cucumber slices
  • 1 radish, thinly sliced
  1. Mash the avocado and spread inside 1 half of english muffin.
  2. Top with turkey, veggies, and the other half of the muffin.
Leave a Reply

