Apple Pie Green Smoothie

I promise, this will be the last smoothie or shake recipe I post for a little while. I’ve posted waaayyyyy too many recipes for them, but that’s because there’s so many things you can put in them and so many ways to make them… and they travel so well!

Speaking of travel, my commute to work means I spend roughly an hour and a half in my car every day. As much as I love listening to my favourite country station and all the nonsense they tell me about, I want to make better use of my time. I’ve started checking audiobooks out from the library, which is something I really haven’t done since I was 10! This week, I listened to French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano. She has some great thoughts on eating to enjoy your food, but also eating in balance. We can still have the treats we enjoy, but we need to balance them out with healthier eating the rest of the time. She also talks about balance in terms of never letting yourself be super starving hungry, but also never letting yourself be so full you can’t move. If you haven’t read it, or listened to it while driving, it’s worth a go with a critical eye.

The beauty of smoothies is that you can literally put anything in it. Half a bunch of wilted kale in the fridge? Throw it in! Odds and ends of frozen fruit? Perfect! And a random jar of applesauce? Why not! Whatever weird and wonderful things you have kicking around the fridge, freezer, and cupboard can all be put in a smoothie. Applesauce is great because it’s so low calorie, but contributes to your daily intake of fruits and veggies.

Meal prep pro tip: if you don’t think you can use all your spinach before it goes bad, divide it up into 1 or 2 cup servings and freeze them in small plastic bags. Then, when you want to make a smoothie, it’s already ready to go. Another option is to buy frozen spinach for your smoothies. Just remember that when the spinach is pre-frozen, you won’t need as much as when you use fresh spinach.

This recipe makes 1 serving.

IMG_0765

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  1. Combine everything in your blender of choice and blend until smooth.
One thought on “Apple Pie Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

