Gnocchi with Kale

I was so impressed with this simple tasty dish when I made it for dinner tonight. It’s made from ingredients I had on hand, and was super filling! I was inspired by the fact that there is finally kale in the garden, so I made this while looking forward to bringing in the little crops.

Meal prep pro tip: make your own gnocchi, or any other food you think you’ll like, in huge batches and freeze it in quantities you can actually use. In  January I made four batches of the ricotta gnocchi from Three Times a Day, as well as two batches of pizza dough. I had one nice quiet afternoon, so I blared music in the kitchen and made a huge mess making everything and then got to tuck everything away in the freezer, which was enormously satisfying. Because I’m really cool like that. But the best part is that when I get home from work/the gym/all the other places I run to and from, and I don’t want to cook, there’s something that’s homemade, so I know what’s in it, even if it’s not homemade at that exact second.

This recipe makes 2 servings.

IMG_0776

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 package prepared gnocchi (or two servings of whatever homemade gnocchi makes you happy)
  • 4 cups kale, shredded into large pieces
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • Parmesan cheese to serve
  1. Cook the gnocchi according to package directions or until cooked through (it will float).
  2. Heat the oil in a large skillet and add the kale. When kale starts to wilt, add the garlic powder and paprika.
  3. Drain the gnocchi and transfer to the skillet. Toss to heat through. Serve sprinkled with parmesan cheese

 

2 thoughts on “Gnocchi with Kale

  1. Mary Lutek says:

    Kale already up in the garden!! We’re jealous. Have planted some – and arugula – but our plants are still just itsy, bitsy little things. Recipe looks tasty! Can envision you blaring the music while making dough and gnocchi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

