Strawberry Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Weekend mornings are made for everyone’s favourite breakfast food: pancakes. Those of you who read this rant about 2-ingredient banana pancakes know how disappointed I was by them. Recently, I found a recipe on Pinterest for cottage cheese protein pancakes, using cottage cheese, oatmeal, an egg and some vanilla extract. I was all excited again! And then I made them and they just didn’t cut it. The cottage cheese made them too lumpy to cook nicely and the combined with egg made for a weird texture after cooking. And there wasn’t enough vanilla so they were bland. I smothered them in applesauce. And so I was disappointed with alternative pancakes again.

And then I had a revelation! When I worked in long-term care, we would puree cottage cheese in a blender to serve to residents who were on a pureed diet. And pureed cottage cheese would be like a smoother ricotta. And lots of pancake recipes use ricotta. This would get rid of some of the lumpiness. I had a plan.

Meal planning pro tip: make a batch (or double batch) of these pancakes on the weekend and save them in a container in the fridge. On week day mornings, throw two in the toaster or microwave for a minute before eating. You could also spread them with peanut butter and roll them up for an alternative breakfast PB&J kind of thing.

Not related to food, but related to health and wellness things: activity trackers! I really like the idea of an activity tracker. I think it shows people how much activity they’re really doing and keeps them accountable. I also think that being able to “compete” against friends and family with the FitBit makes it a more fun and interactive¬†activity. I don’t know if I would use a FitBit enough to buy one, so I sent in 2 codes from a Special K box to get a free one! It is bright red and huge, but my plan is to see if I like it enough to look into buying my own. If you have thoughts on activity trackers, give me a shout in the comments or on Facebook.

This recipe makes 8 pancakes.

IMG_0737.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cup oatmeal
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed
  • 2 cups cottage cheese
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh sliced strawberries
  1. Place the oatmeal in a blender, and grind until it starts to look like flour.
  2. Add the eggs, flaxseed, cottage cheese, and vanilla and blend until smooth. The batter will be thick.
  3. Stir in the strawberry.
  4. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Spray with non-stick spray to keep pancakes from sticking.
  5. Dollop 1/3 cup of the batter into the pan. Use a rubber spatula or flipper to spread the batter into a circle. Cook 2 minutes per side, or until golden brown. Serve with maple syrup.

 

One thought on “Strawberry Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Leave a Reply

