Creamy Apple Butter Grilled Cheese

 

For those who remember at the end of the summer, I was on a big kick with canning and preserving everything I could get my hands on. I think that making the most of fresh local food makes for tastier meals, as well as supporting your local farmers and economy. Also, when I make something myself, I know exactly what is in it, and can control how much sugar or salt is added. Canning and freezing foods also helps cut down on food waste, since it saves food that might not get used up otherwise. So in the midst of that frenzy, I made the apple butter recipe from Amy Bronee’s The Canning Kitchen with some beautifully imperfect apples that a local nursery and greenhouse owner helped me decide on specifically for this project (friendly people is another point for local food). The issue with canning so many things is that now I need to use them all up before I can make more or I won’t have any room! This grilled cheese was one way I made the most of my batch of apple butter.

While the sweetness of the apple butter makes this sandwich perfect for breakfast with a cup of fruity green tea, it’s perfect for any time of day. This recipe makes 1 grilled cheese sandwich. For more grilled-cheese-induced-happiness, check out this, or this. As per usual, if you like what’s going on here, tell your family, friends, neighbours and random people on the street and comment here to let me know!

IMG_0715

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1/2 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 2 tbsp apple butter
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cream cheese
  1. Butter one side of each slice of bread.
  2. Spread the apple butter on the un-buttered side of one slice, and the cream cheese on the un-buttered side of the other. Make a sandwich, with the cream cheese and apple butter on the inside and the butter on the outside.
  3. Heat a non-stick skillet on medium-high heat. Fry the sandwich in the skillet until golden brown, then flip to brown the other side, roughly 2-3 minutes per side. Cut in half and eat immediately
Leave a Reply

