Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

As part of meal prep every week for the last month or so, I’ve made a batch of healthy-ish, portion controlled muffins on Sunday afternoons. While they always still have some sugar and fat in them, they are definitely healthier than the muffins I could buy in the cafeteria at work, or at Timmies, or wherever else I get to throughout the day. Split between two people, 12 muffins means we can each eat one on Sunday, and then each have one every day all week. Making muffins every week has also been an awesome way for me to try some new recipes. I made a couple vegan recipes from Thug Kitchen, as well as a few I’ve found on Pinterest and hadn’t made yet. And if the recipe I find doesn’t quite meet the nutrition standards for my lunch packing, I swap plain fat-free yogurt and applesauce in as needed. But those are recipes for another day.

When I was in first year, we were required to take an introductory foods course, where we learned the science behind our cooking, as well as food safety and cooking skills, and then we put it all together in a 2 hour lab every week. Four years later, whenever I need a recipe to work from or can’t remember a specific random food science fact, I crack open that stained, scribbled in, beaten up cookbook and can find all the basic recipes I will ever need, and the reasons why they work the way they do. This is all relevant because I made a batch of blueberry muffins in that lab. My partner and I made the muffins and some cinnamon rolls. When we tasted them at the end of the lab, I remember the cinnamon rolls being really good, and the muffins being ok, but not awful. There were often leftovers in lab so we brought containers so we could take things back to residence to munch on. I brought these back with me, and fed one to my lovely, unsuspecting boyfriend, who I had only been dating a couple months at the time. He told me they were great. I ate one later that day and they were THE GROSSEST MUFFINS I’VE EVER EATEN. I never found out why. I’ve made the recipe as it’s written since then with no modifications and had it work perfectly. I’ve played around with it and also had it work really well. I have no idea what on earth we did to those poor muffins in first year, but I’ve come a long way since. And the lovely boyfriend is much more discriminating taste tester now.

This recipe makes 12 muffins. I would suggest storing them in the fridge if you plan on keeping them around longer than 5 days. If you’re going to eat them all in the next day, it really does not matter.

IMG_0699.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup oatmeal
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  1. Preheat the oven to 400F. Grease a muffin tin well.
  2. In a bowl, combine the flour, oatmeal, baking powder, salt, and brown sugar. Stir to completely mix.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg with the milk, canola oil, and lemon juice.
  4. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, stirring until just combined.
  5. Gently stir in the blueberries until just combined.
  6. Use an ice cream scoop or small measuring cup to scoop batter from the bowl into the muffin tin.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre of a muffin comes out clean. Let cool in an 5 minutes, then remove to wire rack or plate to cool completely before storing in a container.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

  1. lazymomcooking says:

    This sound healthy! I don’t really like oatmeal, but I know it is healthy! Will it really taste oatmeal when you make it as a muffin?

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas

    Like

Leave a Reply

