Chocolate Strawberry Shake

I don’t know what normal people do on Friday night, but I am fairly sure it doesn’t involve meal planning and organizing for weekend food prep and making grocery lists. And yet here I am: Okanagan Dry Pear Cider in one hand and a list of food ideas in the other. I’m cool.

Since I went from working dinner shift hours to working normal people hours, and then decided to tack a CrossFit workout on the end of a long day, I’ve had to adjust how I pack my food for the day and what I take. This is further complicated by the fact that my job involves testing recipes (tough life, I know), so eating weird things at weird times and in weird amounts. I’ve started taking a handful of smaller “mini meals” to work with me that I can eat throughout the day, or leave in the fridge for the next day if I don’t get to them.

Smoothies can be made ahead of time really easily. They just tend to settle out over night, but that can be fixed with a quick stir or shake (provided you have this in a sealed jar or container). I make my entire lunch, this shake included, the night before, store it in a Mason jar, and then keep it in the fridge at work until I want it. I like almond milk, and chocolate almond milk in this case, because it has a nice nutty taste to it. For those who need a dairy-free diet, it’s a good source of calcium. To make this shake dairy-free, use lactose free yogurt instead of the vanilla Greek yogurt and you’re all set.

This recipe makes 1 shake.

IMG_0682

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup baby spinach, washed
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup low-fat vanilla Greek yogurt (or lactose-free yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate almond milk
  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender, Magic Bullet, or the container of an immersion blender. Blend until smooth. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge until you’re ready to drink.
One thought on “Chocolate Strawberry Shake

Leave a Reply

