Black Bean Dip

So I’ve recently switched jobs and now I have to pack a lunch. Lunch is my second favourite meal of the day, right after breakfast. Anyway, for as long as I’ve packed my own lunch, and even when someone packed it for me, I always think I like plain baby carrots, but remember I don’t after about three carrots. So yesterday I went to take some veggies in my lunch to work and sure enough, after three carrots, I was pretty much over them. But the catch is that, like a seven-year-old, I will eat my carrots with dip. And thus, the black bean dip was born.

This change in job also means that I’m not home during the day anymore (yay normal work week!!!) so I don’t have that awesome mid morning light I’d gotten used to taking pictures in. The last few posts, I’ve had to play around with overhead lighting and extra lighting and the flash on my camera and all that fun stuff. But I manage to get a few decent pictures out of each one so that’s something.

This recipe makes roughly 1 1/2 cups of dip. I made mine by combining everything in the cup that came with my immersion blender, and then pumping it up and down until it was nice and smooth. If that’s not your style, you could chuck everything in a food processor, or blend the heck out of it in a blender. For a chunkier dip, chop the green onions, garlic, and parsley really really finely and mash everything with a potato masher. I portioned the dip into little containers and portioned carrots and strips of bell peppers into larger ones and then they’re ready to throw in my lunch bag in the morning! I also used some of this as filling for some fresh rolls with carrots and turkey. It sounds like kind of a weird combination but it worked.

IMG_0619

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 can  (540 g) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup parsley leaves
  • 1 green onion
  • dash each salt and pepper
  1. Place all ingredients in a bowl, or the cup that is designed for the immersion blender, and puree thoroughly with immersion blender. Food processors and blenders will also work.
  2. Store covered in the refrigerator until ready for use.
One thought on “Black Bean Dip

Leave a Reply

