Barley and Steel-Cut Oatmeal

This week in the Adventures of NutriGirl, I’ve been meal prepping my life away, specifically for breakfast. This means I’ve got a giant bowl of hard boiled eggs in the fridge, and a giant pot of oatmeal all ready to go beside it. Next week I’m starting a new job as a dietary aide, which is going to mean some early mornings. Combine that with needing something quick before or after CrossFit, and it’s nice to have something already ready to go.

My other adventure this week involved trying to make red pepper jelly. After two days, I finally have four and a half jars of the most solid jelly I’ve ever seen. And I don’t mean solid in a trendy, slangy way that means it’s great. It tastes awesome though! I made it the first time on Wednesday, but didn’t wait until it was thick enough before I put it in jars and processed it. After that, I realized things looked a little soupy. When they still hadn’t set or anything by Thursday morning, I broke all the jars open and started cooking them again. I think that basically what happened was that I added a bit too much red pepper. In the end, I figured adding no-sugar-needed pectin would work. And it might’ve, but I think I cooked it a little too long after that. Anyway, in the end, I have red pepper jelly, even if it isn’t exactly the way I thought it would work. I’ll try again next time!

This recipe makes 8 servings. My strategy here is to make it and then leave it in the fridge for a few days. To reheat it, I add a couple splashes of almond milk and some fruit and microwave it for a couple minutes. Bam! Breakfast!

IMG_0502

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups steel cut oats (not the instant ones)
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 cup pearl barley
  • 8 cups hot water
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • jam/fruit/almond butter/whatever
  1. In a large pot, heat the oil on medium heat. Add the steel cut oats and cook them for a couple minutes until they smell toasty.
  2. Add the barley and hot water and bring it to a boil.
  3. Reduce the heat to medium and let it simmer for 20 minutes, or until most of the water is absorbed, stirring occasionally.
  4. Add the almond milk and turn off the heat.
  5. Top your bowl with whatever you want and store the rest in a sealed container in the fridge for up to a week.
Leave a Reply

