Zucchini Salad with Goat Cheese

As a follow-up to my post last week featuring an easy chickpea salad to take with you to work or school, I did up a similar salad that makes an awesome side to any lunch. This salad doesn’t have nearly as much protein, but it does pack in a lot of fibre with the zucchini, so it’ll help keep you full through the afternoon. To add some protein, try topping it with a piece of chicken breast, some canned tuna (packed in water of course), or a hard boiled egg for a vegetarian option.

Also, for anyone who’s tried zucchini noodles, or anything similar, give me a shout. I’d love to find some fun new pasta swaps besides spaghetti squash to play with as we head into colder months.

I think I might finally be done with my canning for the season after I play with some red pepper jelly tomorrow. I found a recipe that sounds super easy so we’ll see how it goes. Red pepper jelly will be perfect to bring out over the winter with some cheese plates, or with roast meats. I can’t wait! I love walking down the basement stairs and seeing all the jars all nicely lined up and waiting to be opened all winter! (I’m really cool, and just a hoot to hang out with, I swear.)

This recipe makes 1 serving, but if you use a whole zucchini and double everything else, you’ll easily get two.

IMG_0493

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a small or medium zucchini
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Carefully slice the zucchini into thin matchsticks. Alternately, if you have a spiralizer, this would be a good time to use it too.
  2. Put the zucchini matchsticks into a container that seals well. Finely chop the garlic and add it to the zucchini.
  3. Add the olive oil, red wine vinegar, lemon juice, goat cheese, and salt and pepper.
  4. Seal the container and shake to combine everything.
  5. Throw it in your bag and refrigerate it until lunch time.
One thought on “Zucchini Salad with Goat Cheese

Leave a Reply

