Blackberry and Peach Oatmeal

Since school is starting up again, and the days are starting to cool down, I thought it would be worth bringing out a warm breakfast classic, with a summery twist. There’s still fresh peaches around, so I’ve been making use of them in every way I can. (Related: I finally got to can peaches yesterday and it was so cool, and way easier than I expected).

I think it’s going to be very weird to not be going back to school in the next couple weeks. I’ve been told that’s when new grad realize they aren’t students anymore. Hopefully with work and Crossfit and playing fall fairs with the Legion band (I’m so cool) I’ll be too busy to find it weird.

This recipe makes one serving of oatmeal, which is one big bowl.

IMG_0438

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup frozen blackberries
  • 1 fresh peach, sliced
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  1. In a microwave-safe cereal bowl, combine the oats and water. Stir in the blackberries.
  2. Microwave on high for 3 minutes, or until the oatmeal is the consistency you want (I like mine on the more solid, less-watery side).
  3. Top the oatmeal with the peaches and the dollop of almond butter.
Leave a Reply

