Sundried Tomato and Sausage Egg Scramble

I think scrambled eggs can be one of the most underrated dishes out there. Last week I tried out Bon Appetit’s Soft Scrambled Eggs and they were just as beautiful and yummy as I thought they would be. So then I had to figure out how to dress them up and make them my own. And this made a lovely lunch between my Crossfit workout and heading to work.

For those who are interested, I’m currently reading The Shelf  by Phyllis Rose. Because apparently not only do I love reading, I love reading about reading. I’m cool, I swear. Anyways, I think her approach to reading and choosing what to read is really interesting, and as someone who loves lists of things to read and once wanted to read the whole children’s section of the Deep River Library in alphabetical order, I appreciate her methods. I also really like her emphasis on the merit of all types of fiction, from detective mysteries to books we consider classics.

This recipe for scrambled eggs makes 1 serving. For the sausage, I used a left-over honey-garlic one, but use whatever works for you. Turkey sausage with spinach would also be great. If you want more eggy goodness, check out this toast, this wrap, this omellete, or this frittata.

IMG_0399

  • 2 large eggs
  • pinch salt
  • 1 sausage, cooked and sliced
  • 1 1/2 tbsp chopped sundried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese, crumbled
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Crack the eggs into a bowl and add a pinch of salt. Whisk them for roughly 30 seconds until they are a consistent, pale yellow colour.
  2. Heat a non-stick pan on medium low heat. Add the sliced sausage and sundried tomatoes and heat them through.
  3. Pour the egg mixture into the pan. Let it cook until the bottom half of the eggs are set, then scrape them around and scramble. Let cook until barely set.
  4. Transfer the eggs to a plate and top with goat cheese. Top with salt and pepper to taste.
3 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato and Sausage Egg Scramble

  1. Mary Lutek says:

    Looks tasty!! Will try it! Didn’t have green onions to deal with this year, but have a ton of overgrown zucchini’s. Making muffins and plan to make chocolate cake. Have you ever tried to make zucchini chips? Saw a recipe through Yummly and think I may try it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

