The End of the Green Onions

So for those who are interested, I have finally finished almost all of the green onions. If you saw this post, or this post, or even this post, you know that I have been struggling to find ways to use all the green onions from the garden. There is one bunch left in the garden and then they are all gone!

IMG_0397

I finally decided just to freeze what was left of them. I cut off the root end, and the tips (basically anything that I didn’t want to eat) and then used scissors to cut them into pieces. I spread the pieces out on a cookie sheet and froze them in a single layer for 4 days (I forgot I had them and went away for the weekend). Then I put them all in a zippered freezer bag, labelled them, and threw them back in the freezer until I want them. I’m planning on using them in pasta, stir fries, fried rice, eggs, and mashed potatoes, and that’s just for starters. I hate wasting food, and especially when it’s something grown in the backyard, so hopefully this works out!

For those interested in an update on my Crossfit adventures, I went to Crossfit Stratford for my first fundamentals session today to figure out what on earth I’m doing. I am proud to say I’ve got rowing, push ups, sit ups, box jumps, and squats more or less under control. I can also do a pull up using two giant elastics, but that’s better than the no pull ups at all I was doing before so this is something! I just love how everything can be scaled up and down so nothing is totally impossible for anyone. I also love that the emphasis is on being fit and seeing what your body can do, not on losing weight or getting ripped or whatever. I’m heading back for round two of fundamentals tomorrow so we’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

