Pickled Green Onions

So apparently there’s a limit on how many green onions two people can actually eat before they go bad. I’ve been trying to get them into everything I can: eggs, potatoes, salmon salad, avocado toast… I even saw people on Instagram just straight up grilling whole green onions and I might try that one out tonight. It’s worth a try, right?

Anyway, I decided to pickle some of them to use them up. I played around with fridge pickles using cucumbers in the winter after I read the Thug Kitchen Cookbook. These follow the same idea but are completely different. They can be kept in the fridge for a week, or up to twelve days. The onions can be eaten all on their own, just like pickles, or incorporated into tuna salad, put on burgers, or whatever floats your boat. I think I’d like to learn more about how to can stuff so I could make these and can them and not have to keep them all in the fridge until I need them. You’ll also need a jar that holds roughly 3 cups of liquid and seals tightly. I bought mine at the dollar store in January because I couldn’t find one (I know, who can’t find a Mason jar or something?). Anyway, if you make these, give me a shout and let me know how they went! As always, if you like what I’m doing, like me on Facebook!

IMG_0343

Ingredients:

  • 2 GIANT bunches of green onions
  • 4 sprigs of fresh dill, stems removed
  • 1/2 tbsp whole black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  1. Cut the ends off the onions and wash them (the onions, not the ends).
  2. Cut the onions to the height of the jar. If your onions are as big as these guys were, you’ll get two lengths worth from each bunch, plus a good amount of bits left over to use for fresh stuff.
  3. Cram all the onions into the jar carefully.
  4. Add the dill to the jar. You just want to stick it all throughout the jar so it gets a good flavour.
  5. Add the salt and peppercorns to the jar. Pour the apple cider vinegar, white vinegar, and water over the onions. Put the lid on tightly and shake it up to make sure everything is combined.
  6. Store in the fridge. After leaving them over night, the onions will take on all the other flavours. After more than 12 days, they’ll probably start to get a little slimy and mushy.
One thought on “Pickled Green Onions

Leave a Reply

