Throwing Together a Simple Meal

Can anyone believe it’s halfway through July? I feel like the summer is just flying by.

It was suggested last week that I do something different for a blog post and talk about how I go about putting together an actual meal instead of just a recipe. My breakfasts are normally pretty simple since I’m either running out the door or I’m not awake yet. For lunch, I grab leftovers, a salad, or toast if I have the day off. Dinner is kind of a hit and miss situation since I work evenings and weekends, but I have been trying to make something remotely nice (aka not grilled cheese or KD) when my boyfriend and I are both home.

IMG_0321

Last week, the meal I threw together consisted of white wine and maple grilled pork chops, some grilled asparagus in my fancy new grill pan, and this Garlicky Kale Salad that I made back in April and still love. My mom has also started making it, and when your mom decides a recipe is good and makes it more than once, it’s good. I made the salad ahead of time since it can keep in the fridge for a few days.

IMG_0298

For the asparagus, I literally just broke the woody ends off , put them in the pan, topped with salt and pepper and put them on the grill until they were soft and bright green. The pan keeps them from getting too burnt or brown, and from falling through the grill. You could also cook them this way, like I did this spring. It’s getting to the end of asparagus season but you can still find it for a reasonable price. One big bunch gets two of us through two or three meals, depending what else it’s paired with.

For the pork, my boyfriend specifically asked me to marinade it in wine and maple bbq sauce. I take no credit for it. I used 1/4 cup of Pelee Island pinot grigio, because that’s what was in the fridge, and 1/4 cup of the Selections brand Maple BBQ sauce. I just poured them in a Ziploc bag with the pork chops and let them sit in the fridge for 5 hours. Fun hint: check the bag for holes before you add the liquid and definitely before you shake it up. Double bag if necessary. Then I just grilled the pork chops for roughly 7 minutes on each side, or until they’re cooked through.

In other news, Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee comes out today! This is the follow-up to To Kill a Mockingbird. I didn’t pre-order it, but I will be finding a copy when it goes on sale. Just as a hint of how much of a book geek I can be, I bought my own copy of To Kill a Mockingbird the summer after grade 11, when I realized I had missed out on reading it at school somehow. Heaven forbid I would miss out on a classic book! I’m really cool, I promise.

On Friday, we’ll back to your regularly scheduled programming with a new recipe! Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

