Tart Cherry and Applesauce Loaf

For those who don’t know, I am a huge bookworm. We’re not talking run-of-the-mill, read-whatever-movie-is-popular kind of bookworm. We’re talking voracious, need-to-read-every-book-I’ve-ever-heard-of, 1109-books-to-read-on-Goodreads, book addict. Which explains why I’m sitting beside a pile of eight books right now. Three of them are textbooks for my Canadian Society of Nutrition Management exam, which I decided I could just not handle as PDFs, but the other four are for my own reading.

Why is all this relevant?

Because I read a lot while making and eating this loaf this week.

This recipe uses tart cherries, which are too sour to eat more than a couple of on their own. The applesauce, brown sugar, and vanilla almond milk sweeten them up and make them tasty. You could also use regular cherries, but the loaf would be much sweeter. Also, pitting cherries is a pain in the butt. If there is a better way to this than sitting at the table slicing each cherry in half and taking the pit out, someone please let me know. Or maybe don’t, I’m not sure I want to know how much time I wasted.

This recipe makes 1 loaf.


IMG_0251 IMG_0258

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup tart cherries, pitted and halved
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 vanilla almond milk
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir to combine.
  3. Add in the egg, applesauce, and almond milk and stir until everything is evenly mixed and there’s no lumps.
  4. Stir in the cherries.
  5. Pour the mixture into a loaf pan (greased if it’s not non-stick).
  6. Bake the loaf for 55 minutes, or until a fork stuck in the middle comes out clean.
2 thoughts on “Tart Cherry and Applesauce Loaf

Leave a Reply

