Zucchini Hashbrowns

I’m pretty sure it hasn’t stopped raining here for more than 12 hours in close to a week now. This means I’ve been cooking mainly warm comfort food. Today I’m taking on a baking project using tart cherries and I can’t imagine a better day for it.

So for those who have seen my other recipes, you know that I’m always trying to take things that I eat anyway and make them healthier. This is my take on breakfast hashbrowns, using zucchini from the farmers’ market in Mitchell. This one farmer there sold me the one of the BIGGEST zucchinis I’ve ever seen. I only used half of it in this recipe. It’s big enough around that I could grill the rounds on the barbecue without any fear of pieces falling through. For those who missed my last post involving zucchini, it’s low in calories and high in vitamin C, so it’s a good swap for some of the potatoes. There’s less calories and carbs than regular hashbrowns in this recipe for those who are concerned, and it ups your vegetable intake for the day.

This recipe will make 3-4 servings. It can be stored in the fridge for up to three days if there’s leftovers and reheated, either in a pan or the microwave.


IMG_0233

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp oil
  • 2 cups hashbrown cut frozen potatoes (the tiny little cubes)
  • 1/2 extra large zucchini, or 1 small
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried sage
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  1. In a large skillet, heat the oil on medium heat.
  2. Add the hashbrowns and let them cook until they start to brown, 10-15 minutes.
  3. In the meantime, cut the zucchini into cubes.
  4. Add the zucchini, garlic, and spices to the skillet.
  5. Let everything cook until zucchini is soft but not mushy and hashbrowns and thoroughly cooked, 10-15 more minutes.
  6. Serve with eggs and turkey bacon.
One thought on “Zucchini Hashbrowns

Leave a Reply

