White Bean and Rosemary Hummus

Hope everyone has had an awesome week and has big plans for the Father’s Day weekend. So far the highlight of my Friday has been seeing someone else as crazy as me go running by! This is proof that I’m not the only person running out here, contrary to the strange looks I get from passing cars, truck, tractors, and sprayers that pass me on the roads.

This week I read The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World’s Most Glorious – and Perplexing – City by David Lebovitz. This book has been on my to-be-read list for so long but I only just got around to it. David’s stories about moving to Paris and starting his life there are funny and well-written. They’re also fairly wanderlust-inducing. I love how the recipes are sprinkled throughout the book instead of just all being at the end, and how they relate to the anecdotes. If you haven’t read it yet and you like food (don’t we all), it’s definitely worth the read.

This hummus involved a fair bit of playing around with beans. Until Sunday night, I’d never re-hydrated dried beans, but I figured it couldn’t be that hard, right? Um, no. I put them in a big bowl to soak overnight but I thought they’d soften up a lot more than they did. When I finally got around the boiling them, it ended up taking so much longer than I thought too! We were supposed to have them for supper with the Strawberry Ricotta Crostini that I posted on Tuesday but that didn’t happen, and I didn’t make the hummus until Wednesday. The trick here is to get the beans as mushy as possible so that they blend easily. In a food processor where everything is contained, this might not be as big a deal, mess-wise, but if you’re using an immersion blender, it can make a huge mess. The easier route would have been to use canned beans, which are already nice and soft and ready to go. I served the hummus up with a grilled pita, but it’s been great on anything. This recipe makes roughly 4 cups of hummus.

IMG_0124 IMG_0163 IMG_0170

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups white beans (either canned and drained, or soaked and boiled until very soft)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 medium cloves garlic ( I know it looks like more in the picture, mine broke into a bunch of mini-cloves)
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary
  • pinch each salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup water
  1. In a food processor, or large bowl if you’re using an immersion blender, combine the beans, oil, lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, rosemary, and salt and pepper.
  2. Start to blend the ingredients. If the hummus looks too thick, or isn’t blending well, add the water a tbsp at a time and continue to blend until smooth. Adjust salt and pepper to taste if needed.
  3. Use a spatula to transfer the hummus to a serving bowl or airtight container. The hummus can be kept in the fridge for up to five days in an airtight container
Leave a Reply

