Spicy Roast Squash

Ok, I swear this will be the last wintery recipe before spring! Roast squash is great though, because you can make one big pan of it and then eat it combined with a bunch of stuff for the next day or so. It’s an easy veggie to up your fruit and vegetable intake and goes with almost any type of protein or carbs.

Also, I’m working on improving my food photography skills. I’ve had a couple great people I’ve been able to ask questions to and then did a bunch of Google searches and I think it’s getting better! I’m amazed by the number of resources that are out there about food blogging and photography! Food Bloggers of Canada especially has so many ideas and articles written by people who know there stuff that have definitely helped me out! Now if anyone knows of any free Photoshop-esque programs that would let me edit and add text to my pictures, give me a shout!

This recipe makes 6 1-cup servings.

100_2700

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium butternut squash (should yield 6 cups when peeled and diced)
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • pinch of salt
  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. Peel and dice the squash. Make sure to scrape out all the gunk and seeds from the inside. Diced pieces should be bite sized.
  3. Place the diced squash in a large bowl. Add the chili powder, thyme, cumin, and salt. Toss to coat evenly.
  4. Put the squash on a non-stick baking sheet (or a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick spray).
  5. Bake squash for 25 minutes or until the squash is soft and can be easily pierced by a fork.
Leave a Reply

