Garlic Herb Chicken Thighs

So first, off, I would like to thank all the lovely people who have managed to give my Facebook page 110 likes! Considering the day I made the page, I was terrified of what everyone would have to say, I’ve received such awesome feedback and constructive ideas to improve. And now there are people who like the page who I don’t actually even know personally! That completely made my day!

And now on to some chicken thighs.

Buying chicken is always a dilemma for me. I know that boneless, skinless chicken breasts are the leanest. But they’re expensive! At No Frills, sometimes you can find big bags of chicken breasts for $10, but otherwise it gets a little ridiculous. On the other hand, quarter chickens (skin and bones included), breasts with the bones still in, and chicken thighs are less expensive. But these tend to be higher in fat, since they have the skin attached, and thighs just tend to be a fattier cut of meat. So I just try to alternate and hope that they balance each other out. Chicken thighs are super easy to bake in the oven, but tend to get really greasy. Make sure you’re using a RIMMED baking sheet. Otherwise the grease will come out and end up all over the oven and create lots of smoke. Trust me, I’ve been there. I’ve had to improve my vertical jump to reach a smoke detector.

100_2691

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg chicken thighs (6-8 thighs)
  • 2 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/8 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tsp dried or fresh thyme
  • 1/2 tsp dried or fresh sage
  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. Lay the thighs out on a RIMMED baking sheet.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the garlic, parsley, thyme, and sage. Stir until everything is mixed completely.
  4. Top each thigh with the garlic-herb mixture evenly.
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the chicken juices run clear.
Leave a Reply

