Saturday Banana Muffins

I feel like I always have over-ripe bananas and never know what to do with them. If they’re not in my fruit bowl, there’s a huge collection going in the freezer. I’ve been trying to use them up, so I decided to make a batch of muffins over the weekend. These turned out amazing, and judging by the fact that I had none left by Sunday night, are very well liked by my recipe guinea pig/boyfriend. Had I managed to save any, they would have been perfect for taking to school for lunch all week!

100_2561

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 3 squares sweet baking chocolate
  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. Mash the bananas and combine with the peanut butter and vanilla.
  3. Cream in the sugar. Add flour, oatmeal, baking powder, and baking soda and mix until everything’s combined. Add the milk.
  4. Chop the squares of baking chocolate into very small chunks. You could also use chocolate chips but I didn’t have any in my cupboard so baking chocolate it was!
  5. Grease a muffin tin and scoop batter into the tin.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the edges are browned and a toothpick stuck in a muffin comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

