Ricotta Basil Spaghetti Squash

So I love spaghetti squash. I love that it’s kinda like pasta and I love that it’s only 40 calories for a cup of the stuff (before I doctored it up). I love that I can make it a zillion different ways and I love that it goes with everything. And I love that is just reminds me of fall. And I’m always amazed by how easy it is to cook! One cup also has 2g of fibre. That’s not a ton but it’s something! This makes a great side for any kind of dish and is super easy to whip up. 

100_2538

This was a thrown-together recipe on Sunday night to go with chicken, and was pretty good when I made it again tonight with a fried egg after being in class all day.

So here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 spaghetti squash (obviously you could double the recipe to make more)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/3 cup low fat ricotta cheese
  • 3-4 big basil leaves
  • salt
  • pepper
  • ANYTHING ELSE YOU WANT!!!!
  1. Cook your squash. I think the easiest way to do this is in the microwave but I know it can be cooked it in the oven. Cut the squash in half length-wise and put it in a large microwaveable dish or bowl with a few inches of water in the bottom. Microwave it for roughly twelve minutes. It won’t be super soft and mushy but it will be hot and easy to scrape out.
  2. Add the olive oil to the pan and heat on medium. Once the squash is cool enough to handle (I’m impatient, I just used a rubber oven mitt), scoop the seeds and gunk out of the middle. Then use a fork to scrape the strands out of the rind and into the pan you plan to cook in.
  3. Cook the squash on medium heat. Once it is soft and almost cooked fully, add the cheese and basil and anything else you want. Let it cook until it’s not too liquidy and the squash is no longer hard or stiff. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and you’re good to go! Makes 2 big servings.

Note: You could add all kinds of other stuff to it. My roommates suggested garlic and cayenne pepper for starters!

One thought on “Ricotta Basil Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

